Walter Ostromecki, RCNA Convention regular, receives ANA’s top honour

California’s Walter Ostromecki, a familiar face at Canadian coin conventions, has received the American Numismatic Association’s (ANA) top honour.

A past president of the ANA and current member of the Royal Canadian Numismatic Association (RCNA) and Ontario Numismatic Association (ONA), Ostromecki recently took home the 2020 Farran Zerbe Memorial Award, which is “given in recognition of numerous years of outstanding, dedicated service to numismatics.”

Well-decorated in ANA circles, Ostromecki previously won the association’s Glenn Smedley Memorial Award in 1995, Medal of Merit in 1996, Exemplary Service Award in 2000 and Century Club Award in 2015, among others.

In 2014, while he was serving as ANA president, Ostromecki presented Canadian numismatist William Waychison, of Timmins, Ont., with the ANA Presidential Award.

Past Zerbe Award recipients include J. Douglas Ferguson, of Ontario, in 1966; Fred Bowman, of Québec, in 1976; and CCN founder Chet Krause, of Iola, Wisc., in 1977.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.