Regina club marks constitution anniversary

The Regina Coin Club (RCC), based in the Saskatchewan capital, is marking the 60th anniversary of its first constitution this year.

On Jan. 27, 1961, the RCC held its first meeting of that year to discuss some “important proceedings in the life of the club,” according to club director and show co-chair Brent Hancock. It was the club’s 71st meeting since forming in early 1953, and after eight years, its more than 80 members decided to draft a constitution.

It was the first of five versions adopted by the club between 1961 and 1992, when the Saskatchewan Non-Profit Act required incorporated entities to submit bylaws with their application, and was presented to members at their March 1961 meeting.

That year, the RCC’s membership included “many notable local and budding well-known Canadian coin luminaries,” according to Hancock, referencing Cecil Tannahill, the club’s first president and noted token collector; Hans Zoell, an error and variety specialist; Ernie Haddad, an award-winning exhibitor of Canadian coins; and more.

The RCC will mark its 70th anniversary in 2023.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.