PNG calls for 2018 awards nominations

Nominations now are being accepted for the 2018 Professional Numismatists Guild (PNG) awards.

Nominations should be made by June 1 directly to the appropriate award category officials.

“Each year the PNG publicly recognizes outstanding achievements in the hobby and the profession by honouring deserving recipients with awards in a half-dozen categories,” said PNG Executive Director Robert Brueggeman. “We cordially welcome and strongly encourage nominations from all collectors and dealers.”

“The award winners will be announced at the annual PNG Day banquet that will be held following the PNG Day show in the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia on Monday, Aug. 13, 2018,” said President Barry Stuppler, who added that is the eve of the American Numismatic Association’s World’s Fair of Money.


Lifetime Achievement Award: Presented to a numismatist for his/her extraordinary devotion to numismatics and who, over their lifetime, significantly contributed to the hobby or profession. Committee co-chairs are Barry Stuppler ( and Dana S. Samuelson (

Abe Kosoff Founders Award: Presented to a PNG member-dealer with steadfast dedication to the entire numismatic community and who has made a significant contribution to the Guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general the past year. The award is named after PNG’s founding president, who spearheaded the 1953 launch of the organization. Committee co-chairs are Richard Weaver ( and Wayde Milas (

Art Kagin Ambassador Award: This award is named after a former PNG President and nationally-known Iowa dealer who provided distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill. Committee co-chairs are Don Ketterling ( and Don Rinkor (

Significant Contribution Award: This award is given to those who have made exceptional, beneficial efforts over the years on behalf of PNG and the profession. Committee co-chairs are John Brush ( and Brett Charville (

Sol Kaplan Award: To recognize efforts and contributions in combatting crimes against the numismatic community, this award is presented to someone who has given their time in an attempt to rid the profession of fraud and thievery. The award is jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation. It is named after a former PNG president and Ohio dealer who was personally responsible for the apprehension of several people suspected of committing numismatic-related crimes. Committee chair is Robert Brueggeman (

Robert Friedberg Award: This award is presented to an author in recognition for an outstanding book or other literature. Named in honour of a publisher and author of numismatic reference books, this award is not automatically given each year. It is only given when there is deemed to be a worthy recipient or recipients. Committee chair is James A. Simek ( A copy of each book nominated for this year’s award must be submitted for delivery no later than June 1 to Simek at P.O. Box 7157, Westchester, IL 60154-7157.

The PNG is a non-profit trade association composed of the top U.S. rare coin and paper money dealers, who must adhere to a strict code of ethics in the buying and selling of numismatic merchandise.

For additional information about the PNG awards, contact Brueggeman at 28441 Rancho California Road, Suite 106, Temecula, CA 92590 or by phone at 951-587-8300.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.