PNG announces 2017 award nominations

Professional Numismatists Guild (PNG) Executive Director Robert Brueggeman and President Dana Samuelson recently announced nominations are being accepted for the 2017 PNG Awards.

“Each year the PNG publicly recognizes outstanding achievements in the hobby and the profession by honoring deserving recipients with awards in a half dozen categories. We cordially welcome and strongly encourage nominations from all collectors and dealers,” said Brueggeman.

Nominations should be made directly to the appropriate award category chair by mid-June.

“The award winners will be announced at the annual PNG Day banquet that will be held following the PNG/ANA Numismatic Trade Show in Denver Colorado on July 31, 2017. That is the eve of the American Numismatic Association’s World’s Fair of Money convention in Denver,” added Samuelson.


  1. The Abe Kosoff Founders Award is presented to a PNG member-dealer with “steadfast dedication to the entire numismatic community and who has made a significant contribution to the Guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general the past year.” The award is named after PNG’s founding president, Abe Kosoff, who spearheaded the 1953 launch of the organization. Contact committee chairs Richard Weaver and Wayde Milas at and
  2. The Art Kagin Ambassador Award is named after a former PNG president and nationally-known Iowa dealer who provided distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill. Contact committee chair John Maben at
  3. The Significant Contribution Award is given to those who have made “exceptional, beneficial efforts over the years on behalf of PNG and the profession, and added to the hobby.” Contact committee chair James Sego at
  4. The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to a numismatist for his or her “extraordinary devotion to numismatics and who, over their lifetime, significantly contributed to the hobby or profession.” Contact committee co-chairs Dana Samuelson and Barry Stuppler at and
  5. The Sol Kaplan Award recognizes efforts and contributions in combatting crimes against the numismatic community. This award is presented to someone who has given their time in an attempt to rid the profession of fraud and thievery. The award is jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation. It’s named after a former PNG president and Ohio dealer who was personally responsible for the apprehension of several people suspected of committing numismatic-related crimes. Contact committee chair Robert Brueggeman at
  6. Lastly, the Robert Friedberg Award is presented to an author in recognition for an outstanding book or other literature. Named in honour of a publisher and author of numismatic reference books, this award is not automatically given each year; it’s only given when there is deemed to be a worthy recipient or recipients. Contact committee chair James A. Simek at A copy of each book nominated for this year’s award must be submitted for delivery no later than June 16, 2017 to James A. Simek, P.O. Box 7157, Westchester, IL 60154-7157.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.