Ottawa club names new president

Dealer Jacob Lipson, the owner of Jacob Lipson Rare Coins, has been installed as the new president of the Ottawa Numismatic Society (ONS).

Steve Woodland, the society’s past president, handed the reigns to Lipson during a Dec. 20 virtual meeting. He’s joined on the ONS executive by Treasurer Wilf Lauber and Secretary Randy Marquette.

Lipson has more than a decade of experience as a professional numismatist, including as an independent consultant with the Texas-based Heritage Auctions. Through his firm, he offers Canadian and U.S. decimal coins plus a wide variety of scarce historical medals. He’s also a member of the Royal Canadian Numismatic Association, Ontario Numismatic Association, Montréal Numismatic Society, Lakeshore Coin Club, Association de Numismates et Philatelistes de Boucherville, American Numismatic Association, Numismatic Literary Guild and Medal Collectors of America (MCA), the latter of which he serves as a board member.

A graduate of McGill University, Lipson received the MCA’s Georgia Stamm Chamberlain Award in 2018 for his work in medallic art research. He became interested in medals after seeing a gold medal in the school’s collection, spurring him to publish an article, “The McGill University Hiram Mills Award Medal,” in the August 2018 Canadian Numismatic Journal.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.