OTD: Act of parliament establishes Royal Canadian Mint

On today’s date in 1931, control of the Royal Mint’s Ottawa branch was transferred from the British government to the Canadian government, which established the Royal Canadian Mint through its Department of Finance.

The London Gazette announced the Royal Mint’s Ottawa branch – established in 1908 – would be placed under Canadian control effective Dec. 1, 1931.

The Discontinuance Proclamation gave control of the mint to Canada’s Department of Finance, which acquired the entire minting operation at 320 Sussex Dr. as well as the surrounding land and buildings.


On April 1, 1969, with the passage of the Royal Canadian Mint Act, the Mint became a Crown corporation and has since reported to Parliament through the finance minister.

Leave a Reply

Keep up to date with the numismatic community

Sign up to receive our newsletter.

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $54.60/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.