OTD: Mounted police force proposed for North-Western Territory

On today’s date in 1873, the government of prime minister John A. Macdonald proposed an act to establish a mounted police force for the North-Western Territory (known today as the Northwest Territories).

Named for its location in relation to Rupert’s Land – the exclusive commercial domain of the Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC) from 1670-1870 – the North-Western Territory included present-day Yukon; the mainland Northwest Territories; northwestern mainland Nunavut; northwestern Saskatchewan; northern Alberta; and northern British Columbia. The vast region was controlled by the HBC until it ceded the land to the newly formed Dominion of Canada in 1870.

In 1867, Canada consisted of only four eastern provinces; however, three years later, on July 15, 1870, the government acquired Rupert’s Land from the HBC.

Opening the region to settlement required peaceful relations with Indigenous populations as well as the suppression of the whisky trade, and army officials who surveyed the area recommended a force of up to 150 mounted riflemen to maintain law and order.


The act proposed by the Macdonald government eventually passed on May 23, 1873.

The prime minister originally unveiled the new force as the “North West Mounted Rifles”; however, there were concerns about antagonizing both the U.S. population to the south and the Indigenous population at home, so the force was renamed the North-West Mounted Police (NWMP) when it was officially established in 1873.

It was a predecessor of today’s Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP).

According to Library and Archives Canada, the general duties of the NWMP included:

  • establishing law and order;
  • collecting customs dues;
  • enforcing prohibition;
  • supervising the treaties between First Nations and the federal government;
  • assisting in the settlement process;
  • ensuring the welfare of immigrants; and
  • fighting prairie fires, disease and destitution.

The commemorative silver dollar was issued as part of the Mint’s 1998 Proof double dollar set.


In 1998, the Royal Canadian Mint commemorated the RCMP on its Proof double dollar set—the only set with both a commemorative silver dollar and the aureate dollar depicting the common loon.

The set also includes 50-, 25-, 10-, five- and one-cent coins as well as a toonie.

Designed by Adeline Halvorson, the Proof silver dollar commemorates the 125th anniversary of the founding of the NWMP, an officer of which is featured on the coin’s reverse.

The obverse bears the effigy of Queen Elizabeth II by artist Dora de Pedery-Hunt.

The silver dollar is composed of 92.5 per cent silver and 7.5 per cent copper and has a weight of 25.18 grams, a diameter of 36.07 millimetres and a mintage of 130,795 pieces.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.