Coin of the Year nominees include the Royal Canadian Mint

The Royal Canadian Mint has received seven nominations in the 2022 Coin of the Year (COTY) competition, which highlights coins issued in 2020.

Nearly 40 mints, central banks and other coin-related contractors from about 50 countries submitted more than 400 coin types to the COTY nominating committee for the 39th annual competition.

The committee has since unveiled its list of 100 nominees, 10 of which are included in each of the 10 categories.

14-Karat Gold Coin – 75th Anniversary of V-E Day: The Royal Canadian Air Force – Mintage: 1,200 (2020)

The Canadian nominations (and their respective categories) include the $5 silver coin, “Celebrating 100 Years of the RCMP” (“most historically significant”); the $100 14-karat gold coin, “75th Anniversary of V-E Day” (“best gold coin”); the $50 silver coin, “Courageous Bald Eagle” (“best silver coin”); the $2 bi-metallic commemorative circulation coin honouring artist Bill Reid (“best circulating coin”); the $50 silver coin, “Franklin’s Lost Expedition” (“most artistic coin”); the $10 silver coin, “Pulsating Maple Leaf” (“most innovative coin”); and the $20 silver coin, “Remembrance Day Poppy” (“most inspirational coin”).

A judging panel with more than 100 worldwide numismatic experts will now determine each category’s winners, from which one final “Coin of the Year” will also be chosen, in early 2022.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.