ANA to honour members for ‘exceptional service’

The American Numismatic Association (ANA) is set to recognize outstanding members for their exceptional service and dedication to the field of numismatics.

The awards will be presented during the Member Awards and Donor Celebration on Thursday, Aug. 8, during its annual World’s Fair of Money at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in Rosemont, IL

The ANA’s Medal of Merit honors individuals who have dedicated years of service to the Association and have worked tirelessly to promote the hobby. This year’s honorees are David Crenshaw, Steve Roach, and Dennis Tucker.

  • David Crenshaw: A long-time collector, Crenshaw joined the National Coin & Bullion Association in 2013 and now serves as executive director. Previously, he was the general manager of Whitman Coin & Collectibles Expo. Recognized as one of the Most Influential People in Numismatics by Coin World from 2022 to 2024, Crenshaw has also received the ANA Glenn Smedley Memorial Award (2014) and the FUN Numismatic Ambassador Award (2019).
  • Steve Roach: A graduate of the Florence Schook School of Numismatics, Roach has held various editorial positions at Coin World over 15 years. He has received numerous Numismatic Literary Guild honors, served on the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee (CCAC), and contributed to numismatic books and journals. Roach currently trains appraisers in appraisal methodology.
  • Dennis Tucker: As the publisher for Whitman Publishing from 2004 to 2024, Tucker managed the release of over 300 titles. He is a prominent author and educator, having instructed at the ANA Summer Seminar and served on the CCAC.

Adna G. Wilde Jr. Memorial Award for Exemplary Service

This award honors ANA members who have demonstrated years of enthusiastic service, contributing significantly to the ANA’s growth and educational mission. This year’s recipients are Carol Bastable, Virginia Bourke, and Mitch Sanders.

  • Carol Bastable: A life member of five organizations, Bastable is known for her research on love tokens and hobo nickels. She writes for the Original Hobo Nickel Society (OHNS) and the Love Token Society (LTS), and serves as president of both societies. Bastable has contributed over 25 years of board service to the LTS and exhibited her collection at the ANA’s 2016 National Money Show Museum Showcase.
  • Virginia Bourke: Bourke began her numismatic journey in 1968 and has since chaired the COINARAMA show in San Diego. She has served as an officer in multiple clubs and was recognized as a Numismatic Ambassador by Numismatic News in 2009. Bourke received the ANA Glenn Smedley Memorial Award in 2012.
  • Mitch Sanders: An ANA member since 1983, Sanders interned at ANA headquarters while at Duke University. He initiated the “Getting Started” column in The Numismatist and has contributed nearly 10 feature articles. Sanders also co-hosts the ANA’s podcast Two Bits with ANA Museum Curator Doug Mudd.

For more information, call 719-632-2646 or visit

Leave a Reply

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.