ANA announces 2023 literary award recipients

The American Numismatic Association’s 2023 literary awards – recognizing articles published in the 2022 volume of its official magazine, The Numismatist – will be presented during the Member Awards and Donor Celebration at the Pittsburgh World’s Fair of Money on Aug. 10.

The Numismatist was launched by ANA founder and first editor Dr. George F. Heath in 1888.

The Heath Literary Award, introduced in 1949, acknowledges outstanding articles published in the preceding 12 months.

  • First place goes to David Schenkman for “Little ‘Bits’ of American Numismatics, Parts 1 & 2” (August and September 2022).The author will receive $250, an engraved nickel-silver medal designed in 2013 by artist and ANA member Jamie Franki, and a certificate.
  • Joel J. Orosz earned second place ($100, an engraved bronze medal and a certificate) for “Greetings! Duke Bernhard’s 1826 Visit to the First U.S. Mint” (April 2022).
  • In third place (engraved bronze medal and a certificate) is David McCarthy for “The Myth of the Continental Dollar, Parts 3 & 4” (March and August 2022).

The Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award, endowed in 1978 by the late John J. Ford Jr., is presented for articles that display original and comprehensive research in U.S. numismatics.

  • William Eckberg received first place ($400 and a certificate) for “The Artistry of Robert Scot” (July 2022).
  • Second place ($200 and certificate) goes to McCarthy for his continued coverage of the Continental Dollar series.
  • Orosz received third place (certificate) for his article on Duke Bernhard’s U.S. Mint visit.

Founded by an anonymous donor, the Catherine Sheehan Literary Award for U.S. Paper Money Studies includes $50 and a first-place certificate.

  • Jan Pierre Pallares took the top prize for “Captain Aaron Treat Crane & His St. Louis Post Office Paper Money” (February 2022).
  • Second place (certificate) goes to Schenkman for “North Carolina’s First Currency Printer” (February 2022).
  • Robert Alan Witmeyer received third place (certificate) for “Mummy Money: Urban Myth or Forgotten History?” (June 2022).

The Prue and Arthur Fitts Literary Award for Ancient and Medieval Coinage Studies recognizes literary excellence in those fields.

  • Michael A. Kodysz received first place ($250 and a plaque) for “Prince of Youth: The Rise and Fall of Roman Emperor Publius Septimius Geta” (September 2022).
  • Earning second place (certificate) is Loretta Schultz for “The Revered One: Coins of Rome’s First Emperor” (December 2022).
  • Michael T. Shutterly received third place (certificate) for “Coinage of the First Real Empress” (March 2022).

All feature articles published in The Numismatist are automatically considered for the Heath Literary Award; likewise, all qualifying articles are evaluated for the Raymond, Sheehan and Fitts Awards. For information about submitting manuscripts for review and possible publication, visit


Leave a Reply

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.