Home Forums General Discussion 2020 Mintages

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Numisnut1960
    Participant

Hi everybody. I’m new to this forum but not to the hobby. I’d like to know if anyone has any idea about what the effect, if any, the covid lockdown will have on circulation mintage numbers . Also I wonder if anyone has found any 2020 stuff in circulation yet?

Jesse
    Participant

Hi Numisnut! Thanks for joining the forum.

How long have you been collecting?

I’m unsure about the pandemic’s impact on circulation mintages; however, I think as of now, it’s not impacted in Canada (although the numismatic and bullion lines were/are).

I’ll ask around and report back.

Numisnut1960
    Participant

Hi Jesse. Thanks for your welcome and your reply. I’ve been collecting on/off for mostly 50 years but nowhere an expert. I just collect whatever makes me happy. I have a ton of fun at it. A few years ago I was a member of another forum. However that one seems to have gone dormant. So now with the lockdown I’ve found it to be an opportunity to fire things back up again. Also I’m officially an “empty nester” which affords me lots of freedom. I’m sure there are other in the hobby wondering about mintage numbers too. So it would be greatly appreciated if someone could find more info on it.
    Thanks again

twinrabbits
    Participant

Checking in to see if there are any 2020 mintage estimates?

Jesse
    Participant

Hi there,

According to the Mint’s Q2 report, the supply for Canadian circulation coins decreased 65 per cent and 38 per cent for the 13 and 26 weeks, respectively, ended June 27, 2020 (compared to the same periods in 2019).