PNG seeking 2019 award nominations through May

The Professional Numismatists Guild (PNG) now is accepting nominations for its 2019 awards.

Award nominations must be made by May 31 directly to the appropriate award category officials. The winners will be announced at the annual PNG Day banquet on Aug. 12, following the PNG Day show.

“Each year the PNG publicly recognizes outstanding achievements in the hobby and the profession by honouring deserving recipients with awards in a half-dozen categories. We cordially welcome and strongly encourage nominations from all collectors and dealers,” said PNG Executive Director Robert Brueggeman.

The categories and contacts include:

  • The Abe Kosoff Founders Award, which is presented to a PNG member-dealer with steadfast dedication to the entire numismatic community and who has made a significant contribution to the guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general over the past year. The award is named after PNG’s founding president, who spearheaded the 1953 launch of the organization. The committee chairs are Richard Weaver ( and Wayde Milas (
  • The Sol Kaplan Award, which recognizes efforts and contributions in combatting crimes against the numismatic community. This award is presented to someone who has given their time in an attempt to rid the profession of fraud and thievery and is jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation. It is named after a former PNG president and Ohio dealer who was personally responsible for the apprehension of several people suspected of committing numismatic-related crimes. The committee chair is Brueggeman (
  • The Robert Friedberg Award, which is presented to an author in recognition for an outstanding book or other literature. Named in honor of a publisher and author of numismatic reference books, this award is not automatically given each year. It is only given when there is deemed to be a worthy recipient or recipients. The committee chair is James A. Simek ( Note: A copy of each book nominated for this year’s award must be submitted for delivery no later than May 31 to James A. Simek, P.O. Box 7157, Westchester, IL 60154-7157.
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award, which is presented to a numismatist for his or her extraordinary devotion to numismatics and who, over their lifetime, significantly contributed to the hobby or profession. The committee co-chairs are Brett Charville ( and John Brush (
  • The Significant Contribution Award, which is given to those who have made exceptional, beneficial efforts over the years on behalf of PNG and the profession, and also added to the hobby. The committee co-chairs are Stuppler ( and Dana S. Samuelson (
  • The Art Kagin Ambassador Award, which is named after a former PNG president and nationally-known Iowa dealer who provided distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill. The committee co-chairs are Don Ketterling ( and Don Rinkor (

Leave a Reply

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.