OTD: Argos defeat Lions in CFL’s highest-scoring affair

On today’s date in 1990, the Toronto Argonauts beat the BC Lions 68-43 at the SkyDome (now the Rogers Centre), setting a Canadian Football League (CFL) combined scoring record of 111 points.

The teams’ combined 111 points were eight points higher than the previous CFL mark for the highest-scoring game of all time, according to a story published by The Lethbridge Herald on Sept. 4, 1990. Toronto’s 68 points was a club record and the second most amount scored by a CFL team (the Montréal Alouettes scored 82 points against the Hamilton Tiger-Cats in 1956).

The 25-cent commemorative coin was issued alongside two commemorative stamps.

The 25-cent commemorative coin was issued alongside two commemorative stamps.


In 2012, the Royal Canadian Mint issued an eight-coin set to mark the 100th Grey Cup, which saw the Argos beat the Calgary Stampeders 35-22.

As part of the set, each team – the Lions, Stampeders, Argonauts, Blue Bombers, Alouettes, Eskimos, Tiger-Cats and Roughriders – was commemorated on a 25-cent coin that was issued alongside a pair of stamps.

With a weight of 12.61 grams, the cupro-nickel coins have a 35-mm diameter and feature the effigy of Queen Elizabeth II on the obverse. Filip Mroz, of Toronto’s Bensimon Byrne, designed the reverse.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Coin News


Canadian Coin News is Canada's premier source of information about coins, notes and medals.

Although we cover the entire world of numismatics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Coin News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier coin publication. Canadian Coin News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Periodical Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.